Watch The incident that prompted Bangladeshs Nurul Hasan to accuse

Watch: The incident that prompted Bangladesh’s Nurul Hasan to accuse Virat Kohli of “fake fielding”.

Cricket matches between India and Bangladesh, especially at major stages such as World Cups, are rarely without controversy. After the Indian cricket team clinched a narrow 5-run win over the Bangla Tigers in the Group 2 match to boost their hopes of qualifying for the semi-finals, Nurul Hasan made a huge allegation against Virat Kohli, accusing him of “fake field bets” during game play. With Bangladesh losing the contest by 5 runs, Hasan believes India should be reprimanded for Kohli’s ‘wrong field’ and a 5 run penalty imposed.

After Litton Das laid the groundwork for Bangladesh’s fiery start at the top while chasing a revised target of 151 in 16 overs, Nurul Hasan produced some stunning shots in order to keep his side in contention. After failing to get Bangladesh over the line, he cited the unnoticed “fake fielding episode” as one of the reasons for his team’s defeat.

“In any case, the wet outfield had an impact when we restarted the game. But there was also a wrong throw that could have given us five runs, but we didn’t even make it,” said Nurul in Bengali in the mixed zone and took an indirect jab at the referees Chris Brown and Marais Erasmus.

The incident Nurul is talking about happened at 7th place where Arshdeep Singh threw the ball from deep to the end of the wicket-keeper. Kohli, standing in the throwing line, faked to end the non-striker while the ball was on its way to reach the wicket-keeper.

Here is the video of the incident:

What does the rule book say?

to the thingLaw 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any outfield player to intentionally attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or interfere with a batsman after the striker has received the ball”.

However, Section 41.5.2 states that it is for the umpires to determine whether or not a distraction or deception was intentional. In this case, the referees appeared to have found nothing “premeditated” in Kohli’s action.


According to clause 41.5.2“It is for one of the umpires to decide whether or not any distraction, deception or obstruction is intentional.”

Had the referees found Kohli guilty of fake fielding, Bangladesh would have been awarded 5 runs.

Topics mentioned in this article