Two more CH hopes at the Memorial Cup

Two more CH hopes at the Memorial Cup

The Montreal Canadiens’ Jan Mysak and Arber Xhekaj helped the Bulldogs win Wednesday’s Ontario Hockey League (OHL) final in Hamilton.

• Also read: QMJHL: Stéphane Robidas joins the Phoenix coaching staff

• Also read: Joshua Roy can forget about the Michel Brière trophy

With a 6-1 win over the Windsor Spitfires, the Bulldogs qualified for the Memorial Cup and won the J. Ross Robertson Cup.

The crowd favorites were led by Avery Hayes (three goals) and Mason McTavish (two goals and an assist). Xhekaj was an accomplice to two goals, including Mysak’s in the third half.

The season of another Swiss prospect, defender Daniil Sobolev, ended at the same time as the season of the Spitfires.

Mysak, Xhekaj and the Bulldogs will notably battle Kaiden Guhle and the Edmonton Oil Kings for the Memorial Cup. The Saint John Sea Dogs and the Shawinigan Cataractes are the other teams to complete the standings of Canada’s junior hockey’s most prestigious tournament.