The Climate Vulnerability Forum studied cooperation with Costa Rica

The Climate Vulnerability Forum studied cooperation with Costa Rica

San Jose, Aug. 18 (Prensa Latina) The Climate Vulnerability Forum (CVF) explored opportunities for cooperation with Costa Rica at a meeting with more than 20 local officials, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Worship announced today.

At a virtual meeting at the Chancellery, Costa Rican officials heard CVF Executive Secretary Matthew McKinnon; his Financial Advisor and Climate Prosperity Plans (CPP) program coordinator, Sara Jane Ahmed; and his associate for Costa Rica, Javier Díaz Carmona.

They discussed the CVF’s funding work related to climate resilience, in particular its CPP program implemented in countries with high climate vulnerabilities such as Bangladesh and Lebanon.

They clarified that the CPPs, formulated by the CVF in consultation with the states, are financing and cooperation roadmaps, defined taking into account the needs and challenges of each state, optimizing and supporting established tax strategies.

The Costa Rican Ministry of Foreign Affairs stressed that the CVF is an association of 55 member states that are disproportionately affected by the consequences of global warming and address the negative impacts of global warming as a result of socioeconomic and environmental vulnerabilities.

Costa Rica joined in 2011 and chaired the Forum in 2013-2014.

Costa Rica is one of the countries with the greatest economic risks from natural disasters due to the major threat posed by climate change, according to the State Department, and 6.8 percent of its area is exposed to three or more natural phenomena. disadvantageous.

A significant percentage of Costa Rica’s population, he explained, live in areas at high risk of multiple threats, such as floods, landslides, hurricanes and rising sea levels. all phenomena that are increasing due to the climate crisis.

He stressed that the Ministries of Foreign Affairs and Culture, Environment and Energy and Finance, and the Legislative Assembly were represented at the virtual meeting.