Australian Open: A player forgets a rule and celebrates at the wrong time

Australian Open: A player forgets a rule and celebrates at the wrong time

American tennis player Danielle Collins thought she had won her match against Czech Karolina Muchova. However, Collins forgot an important rule that prompted her to postpone her celebrations.

• Also read: Australian Open: Leylah’s “mental strength”

• Also read: Australia internationals: Russian and Belarusian flags banned from the stands

• Also read: Australian Open: The coach who makes Bianca Andreescu smile

Midi Libre reports from the Melbourne scene on Wednesday. The tie had been achieved in the third set of the match and the players had to face each other in the tie-break to know the result of the match.

Collins scored a point to lead 7-3. Collins dropped her racquet, thinking she had beaten her opponent.

However, the athlete had forgotten an important rule of the Australian Open: In the event of a 6:6 draw in the third set, the players must compete in a “super tiebreak”. One player must score ten points (instead of seven) by at least two points to win a match.

Despite the confusion, the American still won the match 10-6. She advances to the third round and meets Elena Rybakina from Kazakhstan.