African Union calls for release of Gabonese president

African Union calls for release of Gabonese president ( )

This Friday (01.09.2023) the African Union (AU) called for the “immediate release” of the ousted President of Gabon, Ali Bongo, who was under house arrest after the military coup last Wednesday. Likewise, he confirmed the suspension of the country, which cannot participate in the company’s activities until constitutional order is restored.

In a statement issued by the AU headquarters in Addis Ababa, the organization’s Peace and Security Council (PSC) called for “the immediate release and guaranteeing of the human rights, personal integrity, security and health of President Ali Bongo Ondimba and his members.” family and the members of his government”.

In addition, the CPS condemned “any politically motivated detention in these circumstances” and emphasized “the importance of ensuring that all political detainees are treated in the justice system as determined by the country’s legislation”. It was also confirmed that Gabon was suspended from African Union activities “until constitutional order is restored”.

Call for dialogue

The Peace and Security Council called for “free, fair, credible and transparent elections to be held as soon as possible, to be observed by the African Union and the regional Election Observation Mission”. He also demanded that “the military return to barracks immediately and unconditionally return power to the civilian authorities, respect their constitutional mandate and the principle of constitutionalism, and refrain from any interference in the political process.”

The African Union asserted that “the country’s peace and prosperity, as well as regional stability, depend on respect for the constitutional order.” She therefore always called for an “inclusive and substantive dialogue” instead of the use of force. Safety and respect for the human rights of the Gabonese people come first.

Gabon’s suspension comes just weeks after Niger suffered the same fate following the coup in that country. The AU had previously suspended Burkina Faso, Mali, Guinea and Sudan.

DZC (EFE, dpa)